Telephone: (619) 218-2997 - Toll Free: (800)843-5293 - Fax: (858) 451-9097 - Email: rick@sandiegodui.com

Steps to get off Probation after a San Diego DUI

If you are still on probation after a DUI, unfortunately:

A.  You cannot yet expunge/dismiss your DUI conviction under Penal Code Section 1203.4, and

B.  If requested by a California peace officer, you have to submit to blowing in a hand-held breath test gadget or breath machine in order to determine if you are driving with a measurable amount of alcohol in your system (.01% BAC or more).

A) Not being to expunge/dismiss a drunk driving case can mean adverse consequences at work, school or elsewhere.

B) Losing your license for 1 year if you blow .01% (unless your attorney prevails at the DMV hearing) would be a severe blow to your mobility, certain employment opportunities and other liberties.

Question.  How do you get off probation as a result of a San Diego DUI court case?

1) First, gather all relevant information:

  • Date of Conviction,
  • California Vehicle Code Section convicted of (e.g. 23152 or 23103.5)
  • Years placed on Probation,
  • Case Number, and
  • Court Location.

 

2) Determine the Halfway point.

Divide the number of years you are on probation by 2.

You usually need to be halfway through the probationary period before most San Diego county judges will seriously entertain granting your DUI attorney’s motion to terminate probation.

If you are on probation for 5 years, add 30 months from the date you were placed on probation, i.e. the conviction date.  If you are on probation for 3 years, add 18 months from the conviction date.

The conviction date can easily be found on your final (8 1/2 by 14 inches) court papers often called “MISDEMEANOR – DUI/TRAFFIC JUDGMENT MINUTES.”

You can visit your particular San Diego county court location to get a copy of it if you did not keep a copy.  The Clerk’s Office can look up your case number by your name and date of birth.

As long as you have done everything ordered in a timely manner, probation continued and was not revoked.  If not, and probation was revoked, the total probationary period is extended for the time your probation was revoked.

 

3) Determine why you need to be off probation.

Employment-related opportunities is a common reason.  Documentation or a letter from a prospective employer would be helpful.

 

4) Provide this information to a San Diego DUI lawyer.

He or she can then prepare, file, serve, calendar and appear on a “Motion for Early Termination of Probation” aka a “Motion to Terminate Probation.”

It normally takes 1 month (or a little longer) in order for your San Diego DUI criminal defense attorney to have this motion decided by a judge or commissioner, depending on the court calendar.

If you think you are ready to proceed, you may contact San Diego Attorney Rick Mueller at Rick@SanDiegoDUI.com with the relevant information.

This website & linked blog is made available by this law firm for general information purposes only and to provide a general understanding of the law, not to provide legal advice. Readers of this website/blog are cautioned that reading the website/blog does not create a lawyer-client relationship between the reader and this law firm.

By: Rick Mueller

© 2014 San Diego County DUI Law Center - All Rights Reserved.

San Diego County DUI Law Center
501 West Broadway, Suite A 132, San Diego, CA 92101