Use this Termination of Suspension Option if you continue to use your state license and wait out California DMV suspension period(s):
Apply for Termination of California DMV’s Suspension Action based on Out of State Residency
Department of Motor Vehicles
Mandatory Actions Unit M/S J233
PO Box 942890
Sacramento, CA 94290-0001
That’s the only way to avoid doing the alcohol program in California.
What DMV says, absent having done a program in California, you in theory can’t drive here for three years, and you must file the forms or you’ll never be able to drive in California again, even on a valid out-of-state license.
Residents from another state who receive a DUI in San Diego California may be required to complete a DUI program in their home state. Out-of-State Residents need San Diego Court approval for programs not listed as a California provider program as they not accepted by California DMV.
See DMV site for California Proof Requirements for Non-Residents (DL 300).
You are eligible for termination of action under VC §13353.5 if all of the following applies to you:
- Any suspensions or revocations imposed against your driving privilege are no longer in effect.
- Any Administrative Per Se restrictions are no longer in effect.
- Any court-ordered restrictions or DMV ignition interlock device (IID) restrictions are no longer in effect.
- All applicable Administrative Service fees have been paid.
To obtain information regarding your driver record, you may call the Mandatory Actions Unit at (916) 657-6525, or you may request a copy of your driver record online ($2 fee), or by mail by completing a Request For Your Own Driver License Identification Card or Vehicle/Vessel Registration Information Record (INF 1125) form, available online ($5 fee).
You must include at least one acceptable out-of-state residency document with the DL 4006. The out-of-state residency document must include your first and last name, and the residence address must match the residence address listed on the DL 4006:
- Receipts for payment of resident tuition at a public institution of higher education or school records.
- Home utility bill including cellular phone bill.
- Documents issued by a licensing authority indicating a current application for a driver license in the state of residence.
- Official voter registration documents.
- Official document issued by a governmental agency that can be used by the department to prove residency.
- Rental or lease agreement with the signature of the owner/landlord and the tenant/resident.
- Deed or title to residential real property.
- Mortgage bill.
- Filing of homeowner’s property tax exemption or homestead exemption certificate.
- Medical document.
- Employment document.
- Insurance document, including medical, dental, vision, life, home, rental, and vehicle.
- Change of Address Confirmation by the United States Postal Service.
- Property tax bill or statement.
- Faith based document that includes the name and address of the issuing organization.
- Tax return documents.
- Record of financial institution.
- Court documents that list the applicant as a resident outside of California.
You may also be required to pay DMV fees or provide proof of SR-22 financial responsibility, which must be submitted with your application, if required.
San Diego County DUI Law Center recommends getting a free quote by calling Alondra Ambrocio at (714) 809-9940 or emailing email@example.com for a free quote and all insurance-related help.
NOT APPROVED FOR CALIFORNIA RESIDENTS or for anyone with a VALID CALIFORNIA DRIVER’S LICENSE.
Your lawyer must obtain court approval from your San Diego county court where you received your DUI before enrolling. Many judges do not presently approve; other judges are simply unaware of this option.
These courses are for out of state residents to meet court requirements only and are not accepted by the California DMV.