June 4, 2014
San Diego County DUI Law Center News Service
The graduation parties are coming, remind San Diego California DUI lawyers. That does not mean it’s ok to allow minors to drink & drive, or even drink, warn San Diego drunk driving attorneys.
This graduation, this summer and all year, San Diego adults should monitor and secure alcohol at home to help prevent underage drinking.
It is illegal to provide alcohol and host underage drinking parties in San Diego County. Sheriff’s Deputies will be cracking down. If you host an underage drinking party, you will be arrested and booked in jail. Last year, 29 people were cited or arrested for violating the county’s Social Host ordinance. The San Diego Sheriff’s department will also use grant money from the California Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) to conduct undercover and compliance operations to ensure local retailers are not selling alcohol to minors.
A Social Host is anyone who knowingly hosts underage drinking parties on property they own, lease or otherwise control. The Social Host ordinance assigns responsibility to those who knew or should have known an underage drinking party was occurring on their property. Violators face up to $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail or both. You can also be billed for law enforcement services and held liable for injuries sustained by third parties.
San Diego cops are telling the public one can report underage drinking parties to the Sheriff’s Department 24 hours per day. Call our nonemergency line at (858) 565‐5200. Teens who learn about a party on social media can also call the Crime Stoppers Anonymous Tip Line or Students Speaking Out Hotline at (888) 580‐8477. You could be eligible for up to a $1,000 reward.
Let’s make it a safe summer. Don’t serve alcohol to teens. It’s unsafe, it’s illegal and it’s irresponsible.
Start the conversation with your teens by visiting www.sdsheriff.net/social‐host.