How much does a DUI attorney cost?

How much does a DUI attorney cost?

For a first-time misdemeanor DUI, a DUI attorney generally costs in the ballpark of $1,500 to $5,000.  A certified California DUI Lawyer Association (CDLA) Specialist often starts at $2,500 – $4,500.

Fees can usually increase if there is a felony, prior DUI, other charges, an accident, out-of-county, complicating factors or aggravating circumstances.  A full-blow jury trial is extra and can be five figures.  Fees vary from attorney to attorney.

DUI lawyers are not like personal injury attorneys who accept a case on a contingency.  DUI attorneys are criminal defense attorneys who charge the above fees regardless of the outcome.  No guarantee is made as far as the outcome.  Personal injury lawyers only get paid if and when they recover money.

Some DUI attorneys charge more; others charge less.  Larger law firms and attorneys with more overhead often charge more.

Cost-of-DUI-in-CaliforniaMost DUI attorneys prefer full payment in advance.   Some charge more money later; others do not.

Reasonable DUI attorneys work out payments.

You want a DUI attorney who wants to help you and who does not want to break you financially.   DUI attorneys do not know your finances.  

Many DUI attorneys are willing to consider a specific payment plan with exact dates of payments and amounts of payments.  
Most attorneys feel if you have a credit card, that would be easiest. A number of DUI lawyers prefer that as a licensed lawyers, they are an Officer of the Court who must represent to the Court they are retained (paid) by or before the day prior to your first court arraignment date. 
Nearly all DUI attorneys offer some sort of free consultation.  A number of DUI lawyers have online consultation forms together with over-the-phone, email, and texting questions and answers.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Call Now Button