“It’s Not Worth It” – Texting while Driving can get you a San Diego DUI or an expensive San Diego California ticket, lawyers warnrick
San Diego drivers arrested for DUI frequently are stopped for texting while driving, drunk driving criminal defense attorneys know.
Distracted driving in San Diego county is a real problem for drivers. Often it is the basis for the stop or DUI contact, lawyers warn. Other times it results in a separate San Diego California violation if not DUI.
Today San Diego Sheriff’s Department launched “It’s not Worth It” campaign.
Texting while driving is not only a danger to you as a San Diego driver, but to everyone else on San Diego county’s roads around you.
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration finds drivers who use hand-held devices are four times as likely to get into crashes serious enough to injure themselves or others.
San Diego Deputies will be out in force during this campaign period to ensure drivers are not engaging in this deadly behavior.
California’s fine for a first offense of texting or using a hand-held cell phone while driving is $159 or more, with subsequent violations being much higher.
If a San Diego DUI, can be $10,000.
The San Diego County DUI Law Center encourages you to devote your full attention to driving when behind the wheel, whether you have been drinking alcohol or not.