San Diego DUI attorneys have to deal with the new texting craze.
Lawyers learn many times folks are stopped is because they are using their cell phone. Next thing you know you are facing a drunk driving charge in San Diego California!
Many states have no texting laws. Nebraska, for example, does not allow texting while driving. A lady pled guilty to DUI after becoming the 1st person ticketed in Lincoln for texting while driving.
A Lincoln officer stopped her just before midnight after seeing her zigzag over lane lines on 40th Street between Calvert Street and Pioneers Boulevard.
She said she was distracted, texting a friend. But during the stop, the officer smelled alcohol and gave her DUI field sobriety tests which she allegedly failed. Her BAC purportedly estimated at .187%.
Forget about the use of a handheld wireless communication device. San Diego DUI prosecutors instead focus on the drunk driving charge.
On Monday, she was sentenced to 10 days in jail, a $400 fine and her license was impounded for a year.